TINGATINGA ART

ABOUT TACS NEWS THE ARTISTS GALLERY CONTACT
Omari Alois Amonde (1940 - 2015)

Omari Amonde was born in 1940 in Nakapanya, South Tanzania. He went to primary school for 4 years and had to do small jobs at the church, which he did not like. He argued with the priest who chased him from school. For some years he spent his time working on the crop fields.
1957 Omari followed his friends, among them Edward S. Tingatinga, to Tanga to work on a sisal plantation. Wages there were poor and the work was hard with many injuries. So he quitted after three years, went to Dar es Salaam to live with relatives. 1964 he returned to Tanga for 8 more years. In April 1972 he went to Dar for good and joined the students of Tingatinga. They painted at home, then brought their works for sale to the big Baobab tree near Morogoro Stores. "Master Tingatinga never gave instructions nor explications. He kept saying: "Look carefully, watch exactly many times and then try to paint the same." The customers, mostly expatriates, came to buy before and after work. Tingatinga's paintings had always been sold, we never had to take them back in the evening."
One month later E.S.Tingatinga was shot to death. Omari, still a beginner, became a student of the older, more experienced followers of Tingatinga - Mpata, Adeus, Tedo und January Linda.

Omari Amonde was one of the founders of the cooperative and for many years the chairman. For a long time he was the only living student of Tingatinga. He died in February 2015. His brothers Abdul Mkura und Saidi Nakoko are also Tingatinga painters.
Omari Amonde stayed committed to the original style of Tingatinga. Besides the typical animal paintings he liked to paint scenes with a message, like this one:
A stupid boy carries a chicken home from the market head down. The chicken now does the same thing with the boy. "Do you feel comfortable? You should behave with more respect."

In 1992 and 1993 Omari went for one month each to Paris to participate at the exhibitions of Tingatinga paintings at Musée National des Arts d'Afrique et d'Océanie. He was also invited to exhibitions in China and Japan. in 2010 he was interviewed by the danish gallerist Hanne Thorup. The interview was used for the catalogue of the exhibition "Tingatinga. Kitsch or Quality" in Kopenhagen.

TINGATINGA ART

DIE KOOPERATIVE AKTUELL DIE KÜNSTLER GALERIE BILDERBUCH MEMORY KONTAKT
Omari Alois Amonde

Omari Amonde wurde 1940 in Nakapanya geboren. Er besuchte 4 Jahre lang die Missionsschule und hatte in der Kirche Arbeiten zu verrichten, die er nicht mochte. Er stritt sich mit dem Pfarrer und wurde von der Schule gewiesen. Es folgten einige Jahre Feldarbeit.
1957 folgte Omari seinen Freunden, darunter Edward S. Tingatinga, nach Tanga, um auf einer Sisalplantage zu arbeiten. Der Verdienst auf der holländischen Plantage war klein, die Arbeit hart und die Verletzungen zahlreich. Nach drei Jahren hatte er genug, fuhr nach Dar es Salaam und lebte bei Verwandten, 1964 fuhr er erneut nach Tanga und blieb 8 Jahre. Im April 1972 schliesslich kehrte er nach Dar es Salaam zurück und schloss sich den von Tingatinga angelernten Schülern an. Sie malten zu Hause, brachten ihre Bilder zum Verkauf zum Baobabbaum bei den Morogoro-Stores. "Der Meister Tingatinga gab seinen Schülern weder Ratschläge noch Erklärungen. Er sagte nur: "Schau hin, beobachte genau und versuche dann dasselbe zu machen." Die Kunden, Expatriates genannt, kamen vor und nach den Arbeitszeiten. Tingatingas Bilder mussten wir abends nie nach Hause zurück tragen, sie wurden immer gekauft."
Einen Monat später wurde E.S.Tingatinga erschossen. Omari, noch in seinen Malanfängen, wurde von den anderen, bereits länger anwesenden Schülern -Mpata, Adeus, Tedo und January Linda- weiter unterrichtet.

Omari Amonde war einer der Begründer der Kooperative und in vielen Jahren ihr Chairman. Lange Zeit war er der einzige lebende Schüler Tingatingas. Im Februar 2015 ist er gestorben. Seine beiden Brüder Abdul Mkura und Saidi Nakoko sind ebenfalls Tingatinga-Maler.
Omari Amonde malte noch den gleichen Stil wie Tingatinga. Malte er keine typischen Tingatinga-Tierbilder, sondern Geschichten, dann haben sie oft eine erzieherische Aussage. So wie diese:
Ein dummer Junge trägt das gekaufte Huhn verkehrt herum nach Hause. Der Hahn tut dasselbe mit dem Jungen."Fühlst du dich gut dabei? Du solltest uns mit mehr Respekt begegnen."

In den Jahren 1992 und 1993 reiste Omari für je einen Monat nach Paris, wo im Musée National des Arts d'Afrique et d'Océanie Tingatinga-Ausstellungen stattfanden. Auch nach China wurde er zu Ausstellungen eingeladen. 2010 gab er im Zug der Erstellung des Ausstellungskatalogs "Tingatinga. Kitsch or Quality" in Kopenhagen der Kuratorin Hanne Thorup ein Interview.