TINGATINGA ART

ABOUT TACS NEWS THE ARTISTS GALLERY CONTACT
Edward Saidi Tingatinga

Four years after holding a paint and brush for the first time in 1972, Edward Saidi Tingatinga's pictures were selling well when his beginning career came abruptly to an end: a police patrol shot down the 40 year old Tingatinga in the middle of Dar es Salaam. He was mistaken for a fleeing robber. The tragic loss of her husband after only two years of marriage left Agata Mataka alone to look after their children Daudi and Martina. She had just begun selling more and more of her husband's pictures to tourists.

Tingatinga was born in 1932 in the village of Namocheli in the district of Tunduru near the Mozambiquan border. He was the oldest of four children, and he attended primary school for four years. At 25 he left his home to move to Tanga on the coast near the Kenyan border where he worked on a sisal plantation. After two years, in 1959, he moved to Dar es Salaam to his cousin Salum Mussa who found a job for him as a house boy. Later he sold fruit and vegetables as a pedlar, embroidered and learned to weave baskets and mats.

During this time Tingatinga also decorated a few houses in Dar with traditional motives and colors made of red clay, white limestone and charcoal.

At the age of 36 Tingatinga picked up a brush for the first time and began to paint animals on square chipboards. He was also a talented tarimba player in the music and dance group Sindimba, where he met his wife Agata Mataka.

Especially tourists were interested in Tingatinga's paintings on the 60 by 60 chipboards. Soon after receiving his first commission from the 'National Development Cooperation' he quit his job at the reception of the Muhimbili Medical Centre, the university hospital, and concentrated on painting.
"Tingatinga was always in a good mood", Saidi Chilamboni remembers. He had met Tingatinga during his time at Muhimbili Hospital. "I never saw him fighting or taking advantage of someone. He was always busy playing the tarimba or painting. Art was his life."

Soon Tingatinga had a few relatives helping him, but he also encouraged them to paint themselves. Ajaba, Adeusi, Linda, Tedo and Mpata, Tingatinga's younger brother, became his first students.

TINGATINGA ART

DIE KOOPERATIVE AKTUELL DIE KÜNSTLER GALERIE BILDERBUCH MEMORY KONTAKT
Edward Saidi Tingatinga

Vier Jahre nachdem Edward Saidi Tingatinga zum ersten Mal Pinsel und Farbe in die Hand nahm, finden seine Bilder immer mehr Käufer - und seine eben erst begonnene karriere ein abruptes Ende: Eine Polizeistreife erschießt 1972 den 40-jährigen Tingatinga an einem Samstagabend mitten in Dar es Salaam. Irrtümlich zwar, weil sie ihn für einen flüchtenden Räuber hielt, doch das machte den Verlust für seine Frau Agata Mataka nur noch härter. Erst zwei Jahre waren sie verheiratet, und Agata hatte die Bilder ihres Mannes an immer mehr Touristen verkaufen können. Jetzt lebte sie mit ihren beiden Kindern Daudi und Maritina allein im einzigen Raum ihrer kleinen Wohnung.

Geboren wurde Tingatinga 1932 im Dorf Namocheli im Distrikt Tunduru, nahe der mosambiquanischen Grenze. Da die Volksgruppen im Süden Tansanias matrilinear organisiert sind, wird er wie seine Mutter ein Makua, während sein Vater zum Volk der Ndonde gehörte. Edward Saidi besuchte vier Jahre die Primarschule; mit 25 zog der Älteste von vier Kindern von zuhause weg nach Tanga an die Küste nahe der kenyanischen Grenze. Dort fand er Arbeit auf einer Sisalplantage, zog aber 1959 nach zwei Jahren weiter nach Dar es Salaam zu seinem Cousin Salum Mussa, der ihm eine Stelle als Hausboy beschaffen konnte. Später zog er mit einem Fahrrad durch Dar und verkaufte Früchte und Gemüse, machte Stickarbeiten und lernte Matten und Körbe zu flechten.

In dieser Zeit dekorierte Tingatinga auch einzelne Häuser in Dar mit traditionellen Motiven und Farben aus roter Tonerde, weißem Kalkstein und Holzkohle.

36-jährig nimmt Tingatinga erstmals einen Pinsel und Ölfarben zur Hand und beginnt auf einer quadratischen Spanplatte Tiere zu malen. In dieser Zeit wirkt er auch als talentierter Tarimba-Spieler bei der Musik- und Tanzgruppe Sindimba und lernt dort seine spätere Frau Agata Mataka kennen.

Vor allem bei Touristen finden Tingatingas Bilder auf den 60x60 cm großen Spanplatten Anklang. Als er die ersten Aufträge von der 'National Development Cooperation' erhält, kann er bald seinen Job am Empfang des Muhimbili Medical Centre, dem Universitätsspital, aufgeben und ganz vom Malen leben.
"Tingatinga war immer gut aufgelegt", erinnert sich Saidi Chilamboni, der ihn aus der Zeit im Muhimbili Hospital kennt, "ich habe ihn nie streiten gesehen oder jemanden ausnützen. "

Bald schon hatte Tingatinga einige Verwandte um sich herum, die ihm bei der Arbeit halfen; doch er ermutigte sie, selber mit malen zu beginnen. So wurde Ajaba, Adeusi, Linda, Tedo und Mpata, der jüngere Bruder von Tingatinga, seine ersten Schüler.