TINGATINGA ART

ABOUT TACS NEWS THE ARTISTS GALLERY CONTACT
Omari Alois Amonde (1940 - 2015)

Omari Amonde was born in 1940 in Nakapanya, South Tanzania. He went to primary school for 4 years and had to do small jobs at the church, which he did not like. He argued with the priest who chased him from school. For some years he spent his time working on the crop fields.
1957 Omari followed his friends, among them Edward S. Tingatinga, to Tanga to work on a sisal plantation. Wages there were poor and the work was hard with many injuries. So he quitted after three years, went to Dar es Salaam to live with relatives. 1964 he returned to Tanga for 8 more years. In April 1972 he went to Dar for good and joined the students of Tingatinga. They painted at home, then brought their works for sale to the big Baobab tree near Morogoro Stores. "Master Tingatinga never gave instructions nor explications. He kept saying: "Look carefully, watch exactly many times and then try to paint the same." The customers, mostly expatriates, came to buy before and after work. Tingatinga's paintings had always been sold, we never had to take them back in the evening."
One month later E.S.Tingatinga was shot to death. Omari, still a beginner, became a student of the older, more experienced followers of Tingatinga - Mpata, Adeus, Tedo und January Linda.

Omari Amonde was one of the founders of the cooperative and for many years the chairman. For a long time he was the only living student of Tingatinga. He died in February 2015. His brothers Abdul Mkura und Saidi Nakoko are also Tingatinga painters.
Omari Amonde stayed committed to the original style of Tingatinga. Besides the typical animal paintings he liked to paint scenes with a message, like this one:
A stupid boy carries a chicken home from the market head down. The chicken now does the same thing with the boy. "Do you feel comfortable? You should behave with more respect."

In 1992 and 1993 Omari went for one month each to Paris to participate at the exhibitions of Tingatinga paintings at Musée National des Arts d'Afrique et d'Océanie. He was also invited to exhibitions in China and Japan. in 2010 he was interviewed by the danish gallerist Hanne Thorup. The interview was used for the catalogue of the exhibition "Tingatinga. Kitsch or Quality" in Kopenhagen.

TINGATINGA ART

LA COOPÉRATIVE ACTUALITÉS LES ARTISTES GALERIE LIVRE D'IMAGES MEMORY LIENS CONTACT
Omari Alois Amonde

Omari Amonde est né en 1940 à Nakapanya. Il fréquente pendant quatre ans l'école missionnaire et doit accomplir à l'église des petites tâches qu'il n'aime pas. Il se dispute avec le prêtre et est renvoyé de l'école. Pendant quelques années, il travaille comme ouvrier agricole.
En 1957, il suit ses amis (dont fait partie Edward S. Tingatinga) à Tanga afin de travailler à une plantation de sisal. Le salaire à la plantation hollandaise est maigre, le travail dur et les blessures nombreuses. Après trois ans, il en a assez et part pour Dar es Salaam et vit chez des connaissances. En 1964, il retourne à Tanga et y reste pendant 8 ans. En avril 1972, il retourne à Dar es Salaam et se joint aux élèves de Tingatinga. Ils peignent à la maison et vendent leurs peintures sous le baobab devant les magasins Morogoro. "Le maître Tingatinga ne donnait aucun conseil ni explication à ses élèves. Il disait seulement : "Regarde, observe bien et essaie de faire la même chose". Les clients, des expatriés, passaient devant les toiles avant et après le travail. Les toiles Tingatinga n'avaient pas besoin d'être rapportées à la maison, elles étaient toujours achetées dans la journée".
Un mois plus tard, E.S. Tingatinga est tué. Ce sont les autres élèves de plus longue date qui ont continué la formation d'Omari.

Omari Amonde a été un des fondateurs de la coopérative et son président pendant de longues années. Pendant longtemps, il est resté le dernier élève de Tingatinga. Il est mort en février 2015. Ses frères Abdul Mkura et Saidi Nakoko sont également peintres Tingatinga.
Omari Amonde peignait dans le même style que Tingatinga. Il ne peignait pas des animaux, mais des histoires avec un message éducatif, comme par exemple :
Un jeune écervelé porte tête en bas le coq qu'il a acheté au marché. Le coq fait la même chose avec le jeune. "Est-ce que tu te sens bien comme ça ? Tu devrais me traiter avec plus de respect".

En 1992 et 1993, Omari a voyagé chaque fois un mois à Paris, où avait lieu une exposition Tingatinga au Musée National des Arts d'Afrique et d'Océanie. Il a également été invité à des expositions en Chine. En 2010, il a donné une interview à Hanne Thorup, la curatrice de l'exposition "Tingatinga. Kitsch or Quality" à Copenhague, lors de la création du catalogue d'exposition.