TINGATINGA ART

ABOUT TACS NEWS THE ARTISTS GALLERY CONTACT
Lukas Ndunguru

Lukas was born in 1987, he is one of the younger artists of TACS. And the story of his life is encouraging to others. When his parents separated, he had to quit primary school at grade 2 already, further education seemed to be out of reach. He started dreaming of emigration to South Africa or even Europe. But then his father married the daughter of a Tingatinga painter, and Lukas learned about the painting school. He started to paint in 2000, Mussa became his teacher. Lukas became a very accurate and ambitious painter. He started off with the smallest size of paintings (20x20).
Then the year 2007 came and changed his life. He sold many of his small artpieces at the African Market in Riehen (Basel, Switzerland) and with the revenue he opened an account and started evening school to catch up on education. He took the opportunity to learn English, which he likes a lot.
The success with the small artworks encouraged him to try larger sizes. He became a master of 45x45 fishponds soon, but also his paintings with different animals with Baobab trees or Kilimanjaro mountain were improving quickly.
Nowadays Lukas is on the track to become a wonderful and successful Tingatinga artist with good reputation. He does not dream of Europe anymore...

TINGATINGA ART

LA COOPÉRATIVE ACTUALITÉS LES ARTISTES GALERIE LIVRE D'IMAGES MEMORY LIENS CONTACT
Lukas Ndunguru

Lukas est né en 1987, il est l'un des jeunes membres de la coopérative. Et l'histoire de sa vie encourage les autres.
Quand ses parents se sont séparés, il a dû quitter l'école primaire déjà en 2e année et toute éducation supplémentaire semblait hors de portée. Il a commencé à rêver à émigrer en Afrique du Sud ou même en Europe. Mais par la suite, son père s'est marié avec la fille d'un peintre Tingatinga et Lukas a entendu parler de l'école de peinture. Il a commencé à peindre en 2000 avec Mussa comme maître. Lukas est devenu un peintre très précis et ambitieux. Il a commencé avec les peintures les plus petites (20x20).
En 2007, sa vie a changé. Il a vendu beaucoup de ses petits tableaux au marché africain de Riehen (Bâle, Suisse) et avec ce revenu il a ouvert un compte et a commencé une école du soir pour rattraper son retard scolaire. Il en a profité pour apprendre l'anglais, qu'il apprécie beaucoup.
Le succès avec les petites peintures l'ont encouragé à tenter les peintures plus grandes. Il est devenu un maître des étangs à poissons de 45x45 et sa peinture de différents animaux avec des baobabs ou le Kilimandjaro s'est rapidement améliorée.
Actuellement, Lukas est en bonne voie de devenir un merveilleux artiste Tingatinga avec une bonne réputation. Il ne rêve plus d'Europe...