TINGATINGA ART

ABOUT TACS NEWS THE ARTISTS GALLERY CONTACT
Edward Saidi Tingatinga

Four years after holding a paint and brush for the first time in 1972, Edward Saidi Tingatinga's pictures were selling well when his beginning career came abruptly to an end: a police patrol shot down the 40 year old Tingatinga in the middle of Dar es Salaam. He was mistaken for a fleeing robber. The tragic loss of her husband after only two years of marriage left Agata Mataka alone to look after their children Daudi and Martina. She had just begun selling more and more of her husband's pictures to tourists.

Tingatinga was born in 1932 in the village of Namocheli in the district of Tunduru near the Mozambiquan border. He was the oldest of four children, and he attended primary school for four years. At 25 he left his home to move to Tanga on the coast near the Kenyan border where he worked on a sisal plantation. After two years, in 1959, he moved to Dar es Salaam to his cousin Salum Mussa who found a job for him as a house boy. Later he sold fruit and vegetables as a pedlar, embroidered and learned to weave baskets and mats.

During this time Tingatinga also decorated a few houses in Dar with traditional motives and colors made of red clay, white limestone and charcoal.

At the age of 36 Tingatinga picked up a brush for the first time and began to paint animals on square chipboards. He was also a talented tarimba player in the music and dance group Sindimba, where he met his wife Agata Mataka.

Especially tourists were interested in Tingatinga's paintings on the 60 by 60 chipboards. Soon after receiving his first commission from the 'National Development Cooperation' he quit his job at the reception of the Muhimbili Medical Centre, the university hospital, and concentrated on painting.
"Tingatinga was always in a good mood", Saidi Chilamboni remembers. He had met Tingatinga during his time at Muhimbili Hospital. "I never saw him fighting or taking advantage of someone. He was always busy playing the tarimba or painting. Art was his life."

Soon Tingatinga had a few relatives helping him, but he also encouraged them to paint themselves. Ajaba, Adeusi, Linda, Tedo and Mpata, Tingatinga's younger brother, became his first students.

TINGATINGA ART

LA COOPÉRATIVE ACTUALITÉS LES ARTISTES GALERIE LIVRE D'IMAGES MEMORY LIENS CONTACT
Edward Saidi Tingatinga

Quatre ans après qu'Edward Saidi Tingatinga ait tenu pour la première fois un pinceau, ses peintures commencent à trouver de plus en plus d'acheteurs ; cependant sa carrière s'achève brutalement : la police tue en 1972 le peintre de 40 ans par erreur un samedi soir à Dar es Salaam, l'ayant pris pour un voleur en fuite. Ironie du destin, cruel pour sa femme Agata Mataka, mariée à Edward depuis 2 ans, mère de deux enfants Daudi et Maritina et habitant une minuscule maison d'une seule pièce.

Tingatinga est né en 1932 dans le village de Namocheli dans le district de Tunduru, près de la frontière mozambicaine. Comme les ethnies du sud de la Tanzanie sont organisées selon le principe du matriarcat, il est considéré comme un Makua comme sa mère, alors que son père appartient à l'ethnie des Ndonde. Edward Saidi a visité l'école primaire pendant quatre ans ; à 25 ans, l'aîné de quatre enfants quitte sa famille et part à Tanga sur la côte proche de la frontière kenyane. Là-bas, il travaille dans une plantation de sisal, puis déménage deux ans plus tard en 1959 à Dar es Salaam chez son cousin Salum Mussa, qui lui trouve un emploi de domestique. Plus tard, il circule à travers Dar à bicyclette en vendant des fruits et légumes, tresse des paniers et des nattes.

A cette époque, Tingatinga décore également des maison individuelles avec des motifs traditionnels de couleur rouge, de la craie blanche et du charbon.

A 36 ans, Tingatinga prend pour la première fois un pinceau et de la peinture à l'huile et commence à peindre des animaux sur des panneaux. Il est en parallèle un joueur doué de tarimba au sein du groupe de danse Sindimba et fait la connaissance de sa future épouse Agata Mataka.

C'est surtout auprès des touristes que ses peintures de 60x60 cm rencontrent le succès. Il peut quitter son poste à la réception du Muhimbili Medical Centre (l'hôpital universitaire) afin de se consacrer entièrement à son art lorsqu'il reçoit ses premières commandes de la "National Development Cooperation".
"Tingatinga était très posé", se souvient Saidi Chilamboni, qui l'a connu à l'époque de l'hôpital Muhimbili, "je ne l'ai jamais vu se disputer avec quiconque".

Rapidement, Tingatinga emploie des proches pour l'aider sans son travail et les encourage à commencer la peinture. C'est ainsi que ses premiers élèves sont ses frères cadets Ajaba, Adeusi, Linda, Tedo et Mpata.